Presentation of the 63rd San Sebastian Festival

Foto 01-09-15 12 12 41

Among those to have confirmed their attendance are: Sienna Miller, Tom Hiddleston, Luke Evans, Ellen Page, Emily Blunt, Benicio del Toro, Tim Roth, Laurie Anderson, Karin Viard, Isabelle Carré, Ricardo Darín, Raphael and Alejandro Amenábar

Friday, September 4th, 2015

 Today saw the presentation of the 63rd San Sebastian Festival, to take place from September 18 to 26. Its Director, José Luis Rebordinos, and two members of the Management Committee, Maialen Beloki and Joxean Fernández, announced its contents, the composition of certain juries and the names of those who will attend this new edition.

The actress Emily Watson will receive the Donostia Award in recognition of her career on September 25. Other outstanding actors will also come to San Sebastian with films presented at the Festival: Sienna Miller, Tom Hiddleston and Luke Evans (High Rise), Ellen Page (Freeheld), Emily Blunt and Benicio del Toro (Sicario), Tim Roth (600 Miles and Chronic), Louise Bourgoin (Les chevaliers blancs) and Karin Viard and Isabelle Carré (21 nuits avec Pattie), among others.

As usual, some of the most important filmmakers on the international scene will gather at the Festival, such as: Pablo Agüero (Eva no duerme), Laurie Anderson (Heart of a Dog), Scott Cooper (Black Mass), Terence Davies (Sunset Song), Michel Franco (Chronic), Lucile Hadzihalilovic (Evolution), Hou Hsiao-Hsien (Nie yinniang / The Assassin), Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson (Anomalisa), Hirokazu Koreeda (Umimachi Diary / Our Little Sister), Joachim Lafosse (Les chevaliers blancs), Pablo Larraín (El club), Jean-Marie and Arnaud Larrieu (21 nuits avec Pattie),  George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road), Rufus Norris (London Road), Corneliu Porumboiu (Comoara / The Treasure), Gabriel Ripstein (600 Miles), Walter Salles (Jia Zhang-ke, um homem de Fenyang / Jia Zhangke, A Guy from Fenyang) Peter Sollett (Freeheld), Pablo Trapero (El clan), Federico Veiroj (El apóstata), Denis Villeneuve (Sicario) and Jia Zhangke (Shan he gu ren / Mountains May

Spanish cinema too will have a large representation at this year’s Festival. Among the actors and directors who have confirmed their presence are: Alejandro Amenábar (Regression / Regresión), Ricardo Darín and Javier Cámara (Truman), Álvaro Ogalla, Bárbara Lennie, Marta Larralde and Vicky Peña (El apóstata), Agustí Villaronga (El rey de La Habana), Imanol Arias (Eva no duerme), Marc Recha and Sergi López (Un dia perfecte per volar), Pere Joan Ventura, Pere Portabella and El Gran Wyoming (No estamos solos), Imanol Uribe, Elena Anaya, Eduard Fernández and José Luis García Pérez (Lejos del mar), Paula Ortiz, Inma Cuesta, Álex García, Leticia Dolera, Asier Etxeandía and Manuela Vellés (La novia), Fernando Colomo (Isla bonita) and the director Dani de la Torre with the cast of his film, El desconocido: Luis Tosar, Goya Toledo, Paula del Río and Javier Gutiérrez.

Álex de la Iglesia will arrive accompanied by the cast of Mi gran noche (My Big Night): Raphael, Carlos Areces, Carolina Bang, Mario Casas, Carmen Machi, Santiago Segura, Hugo Silva and Blanca Suárez. Also present will be the cast responsible for dubbing the Spanish version of Hotel Transylvania 2: Alaska, Clara Lago, Dani Martínez, Santiago Segura and Mario Vaquerizo.